Oct 10, 2013; Los Angeles, CA, USA; Southern California Trojans former player Keyshawn Johnson leads players onto the field before the game against the Arizona Wildcats at Los Angeles Memorial Coliseum. USC defeated Arizona 38-31. Mandatory Credit: Kirby Lee-USA TODAY Sports

Former Bucs Fail to Make College Football Hall of Fame

Three former Tampa Bay Buccaneers players were finalists to be selected to the 2014 College Football Hall of Fame class, but they all came up short today as the 16-man class was announced.

Warren Sapp, Simeon Rice and Keyshawn Johnson were named finalists in March and despite strong credentials, they were not elected.

Their college achievements were outlined by the National Football Association and can be read below:

Keyshawn Johnson, Southern California-Wide Receiver -1995 unanimous First Team All-American who ranked seventh in Heisman voting…1995 Pac-10 Offensive Player of the Year…Earned MVP honors in 1995 Cotton Bowl and 1996 Rose Bowl wins.

Warren Sapp, Miami (Fla.)-Defensive Tackle -1994 unanimous First Team All-American who finished sixth in Heisman voting… Recipient of the 1994 Lombardi and Nagurski awards and named Big East Defensive Player of the Year…Led Canes to national title game appearance in 1995.

Simeon Rice, Illinois-Linebacker -Two-time First Team All-American and three-time First Team All-Big Ten selection…Holds conference and school record for career sacks (44.5) and Illini record for career tackles for loss (69)…Set school record for single-season sacks (16).

Of course, all three players were an instrumental part of the Bucs winning their lone Super Bowl in 2002. Sapp is also a member of the Pro Football Hall of Fame.

The 2014 class will be inducted during the 57th National Football Foundation annual awards dinner at the Waldorf Astoria in New York City on Dec.9. The 16 players elected are as follows:

· Dre’ Bly – DB, North Carolina (1996-98)
· Tony Boselli – OT, Southern California (1991-94)
· Dave Butz – DT, Purdue (1970-72)
· Shane Conlan – LB, Penn State (1983-86)
· Joe Hamilton– QB, Georgia Tech (1996-99)
· John Huard – LB, Maine (1964-66)
· Darrin Nelson – HB, Stanford (1977-78, 1980-81)
· Willie Roaf – OL, Louisiana Tech (1990-92)
· John Sciarra – QB, UCLA (1972-75)
· Sterling Sharpe – WR, South Carolina (1983, 1985-87)
· Leonard Smith – CB, McNeese State (1979-82)
· Derrick Thomas (deceased) – LB, Alabama (1985-88)
· LaDainian Tomlinson – TB, Texas Christian (1997-00)
· Wesley Walls – TE, Mississippi (1985-88)
· Mike Bellotti – 137-80-2 (63%); Chico State (Calif.) (1984-88) and Oregon (1995-08)
· Jerry Moore – 242-135-2 (64.1%); North Texas (1979-80), Texas Tech (1981-85) and Appalachian State (1989-12)

Next Buccaneers Game Full schedule »
Sunday, Nov 22 Nov1:00at Cleveland BrownsBuy Tickets

Tags: Tampa Bay Buccaneers

comments powered by Disqus