Tampa Bay Buccaneers and NFL Midseason Awards: Naming the Best Performers for the Buccaneers So Far This Season

3 of 8

Oct 13, 2013; Tampa, FL, USA; Tampa Bay Buccaneers strong safety Mark Barron (23) runs out of the tunnel before the game against the Philadelphia Eagles at Raymond James Stadium. Mandatory Credit: Kim Klement-USA TODAY Sports

Buccaneers Defensive Player of the Year

I think you know who’s going to win this one…

Winner: Lavonte David

Second Place: Mark Barron

Third Place: Gerald McCoy

David is the obvious choice to win this award, especially considering his dominance of the MVP category.

Barron is an interesting selection in second place, but he’s been much improved over his 2012 debut and looks like he’ll be a playmaker at safety for a long time to come.

McCoy has been absolutely dominant this season, but it’s very tough for defensive tackles to get much love due to the lack of statistics they generate. I believe he’s a close second to David, but the voting placed him third.

Darrelle Revis and Adrian Clayborn also received votes in this category.