Tom Brady and the Tampa Bay Buccaneers all-time team

Tom Brady, Tampa Bay Buccaneers (Photo by Mike Ehrmann/Getty Images)
Tom Brady, Tampa Bay Buccaneers (Photo by Mike Ehrmann/Getty Images) /
5 of 8
Warren Sapp, Simeon Rice, Tampa Bay Buccaneers (Photo by Andy Lyons/Getty Images) /

Defensive End: Lee Roy Selmon (1976 – 1984)

The franchise’s unofficial all-time sack leader with 78.5 and arguably the greatest Buccaneers player of them all, Hall of Famer Lee Roy Selmon is the obvious choice to start the defense with. He was there for the winless years in the beginning, as well as the franchise’s first periods of success. In a way, he embodies the Buccaneers without even winning a Super Bowl.

Defensive Tackle: Warren Sapp (1995 – 2003)

Hall of Famer Warren Sapp was one of the faces of the dominant Bucs defenses of the late 1990s and early 2000s. Sapp’s 77 career sacks with the Bucs is good enough to be the OFFICIAL sack leader for the franchise, which is very impressive for a defensive tackle. The 1999 Defensive Player of the Year is another choice that doesn’t require much thought.

Defensive Tackle: Gerald McCoy (2010 – 2018)

Gerald McCoy may not have done the most winning during his career, but he was a one-time All Pro and a six-time Pro Bowl selection, the latter being tied for third-most in team history with Selmon and Alstott, and behind only Sapp and Derrick Brooks. His 54.5 sacks also rank fourth all-time in team history.

Defensive End: Simeon Rice (2001 – 2006)

The addition of Simeon Rice in 2001 is what took the Bucs defense from a great unit to a legendary one. A case can be made that he should have been MVP of Super Bowl XXXVIl, just like a case could easily be made that he should be in the Hall of Fame.